Schneider Trophy Races


Aeronautical Races - 1

Floatplanes Faster Than Landplanes
Air Races

Rules of Competition

1. Entrants would be put forward, not representing themselves as individuals, but as a representative for their countries National Aeronautic Club.

2. Any craft entered had to be either a flying boat or a seaplane.

3. Each country entering could have up to a maximum of three pilots entered, crafts and reserves.

4. The triangular course is marked by pylons, penalties will be given for not following the track / cutting marker pylons.

5. Every craft was required to complete a take-off and landing sequence during their first lap of the course.

6. The races were not plane against plane - they were separated by a times interval of 5 minutes to avoid possibility of collision. The race would work on a time trial format.

7. Initially the races were envisioned to take place each year. Due to the outbreak of the war, the desire by Clubs to have more time to secure funding and work on development of new craft, and for the organisers to ensure enough entrants would be available to take part, this moved to the races being held every two years.

8. As part of the initial elimination trials, planes needed to be proven as seaworthy and were subjected to a six hour period of floating on the water.

9. Planes were required to complete navigation and water taxiing tests prior to the main races as further eliminatory elements.

10. The course was to be competed in-air apart from the mandatory take off and water contacts.

11. If a plane were to take on water through its floats during a race then the craft was expected to continue flight with the additional weight the water added (this caused issues for Maurice Prevost who won the first race in 1913 in a Deperdussin.)

12. Twice during flight the planes needed to come into contact with the water (this started as a landing onto the water, other skidded along the surface and others (Pixton) created a new bouncing manoeuvre as a way of avoiding the significant time loss this would cause by completely landing.)

13. The winning country would be elected to host the following years event.

14. The country who won the trophy for the third consecutive time within a period of five years would retain the trophy from that point onwards.

Author: ArchitectPage